operate a single district which theoretically covers the whole province. The Roman Catholic system is largest, but its school boards have been cut from more than 100 to 12.

Children age 7 to 15 must attend school. Enrolment before grade one is not compulsory, but with construction of larger, more centralized elementary schools, most 5-year-olds go to kindergarten. School organization follows two major patterns: elementary (kindergarten and grades 1-6) with central high schools (grades 7-11), and elementary (kindergarten and grades 1-8) with regional high schools (grades 9-11). Grade 12 is scheduled to begin in 1981-82. There are a few junior high schools (grades 7-9) and about a dozen district vocational schools.

Technical training is provided by the Newfoundland College of Trades and Technology and the College of Fisheries, Navigation and Marine Engineering and Electronics. Registered nurse diploma courses are conducted exclusively in hospital schools. Memorial University grants undergraduate and graduate degrees, diplomas and certificates. The campus is located in St. John's but extension programs operate in 26 centres. Memorial has a two-year campus in Corner Brook.

6.4.2 Prince Edward Island

Throughout the 1960s small education units were consolidated. In 1972 the system was changed to one consisting of five administrative units with a school board in each. The age span of compulsory attendance is 7 to 15. Kindergarten is not part of the public system but private classes are available. The major pattern of organization is: elementary (grades 1-6), junior high (grades 7-9) and senior high (grades 10-12). In some cases, there are only two levels: elementary (grades 1-8) and high school (grades 9-12). No provision is made for separate schools.

A network of regional high schools offers academic programs from grades 9-12 and a one- or two-year business education course. After grade 12, four additional years are required for a bachelor's degree. Two vocational high schools are operated by Holland College on behalf of the education department.

At the post-secondary level, Holland College offers non-degree programs but because of the province's small population extensive technical education facilities have not been developed. Interprovincial arrangements allow students to attend the Nova Scotia Agricultural College and institutions in Central Canada. The Prince Edward Island School of Nursing is the only establishment from which a nursing diploma may be obtained. In 1969 the University of Prince Edward Island was created as an amalgamation of St. Dunstan's University and Prince of Wales College.

6.4.3 Nova Scotia

School board amalgamation occurred in 1968. For education purposes, the province is divided into municipalities, town sections, city sections and regional units, each with its own board.

Nova Scotia is the only province where pre-grade one (known in the province as primary) is obligatory, so the ages of compulsory attendance extend from 5 to 16. The predominant grade organization is: elementary (primary to grade 6), junior high (grades 7-9), and senior high (grades 10-12). Secondary graduation occurs after grade 11 (junior matriculation) or grade 12 (senior matriculation). A bachelor's degree requires three years of study beyond grade 12. The only vocational education given by regular high schools is in business and commercial subjects. Students in various secondary grades may choose one-, two- or three-year occupational training programs at regional vocational schools, most of which are operated by the province. Although there is no provision for separate schools, local boards can designate certain schools and teachers for instruction of religious or language groups.

Nova Scotia has two institutes of technology offering trades and post-secondary technical courses, an agricultural college providing terminal and university transfer programs, a land survey institute and a nautical institute. The Canadian Coast Guard College is in Sydney. All diploma education for nurses is conducted by hospital schools. The Nova Scotia Teachers' College is the only independent normal school in Canada.

Graduate and undergraduate degree programs are available in the province's 11 degree-granting institutions. The Nova Scotia government contributes to the support of